About me

Hello, I am Bryony, at the time of writing this blog in 2020, I’m 38 and work in the environmental sector! I’m a happy and until recently thought of myself as a relatively healthy person who lives alone in Gloucestershire. I am relatively active; I walk the canal path most days and can access the Cotswold commons within a few minutes’ drive. I also have a healthy relationship with the gym, we see each other infrequently – I like to think it adds spice to our relationship.

What else is interesting that relates? I’m a carnivore, I like my steak moo’ing on the plate and love wine and cheese. I have the best family in the whole world, my parents mean the world to me and my friends are a collective bunch of eccentrics with the biggest hearts. I would say that apart from having an inherited weird sense of humour, I’m normal and (bar a few hiccups) have led a blessed life. Which is probably why karma has been a bitch and bitten me hard, and almost literally on the bum.

At the time of writing this blog, the country is in the third Covid lockdown, and my life revolves around the following six words – I’m Bryony, I have cancer. I started this blog mid-way through my chemotherapy, hence why most of it is in part tense as I reflect on the last few months.

To be warned, I’m not a blogger – my mum thought it would be a good idea to write about my experience as I found little on-line help out there specific to my cancer and my chemotherapy. I’m not sure if this blog is a cathartic process to help with my recovery and believe me cancer is mentally exhausting as well as physically. However, if it is helpful to just one person it would mean the world, but I need to warn you now, I am going to be brutally honest in this blog (my friends will tell you that’s just me being me) but I will also tell you about things that have helped me on the way.

Click here to start reading: 22nd March 2020 : My Symptoms